top of page

Review: Mine Till Midnight


Okay, so as I have said before, I absolutely love the Historical Fiction/Romance genre. So while I was going through reviews on Judith McNaught’s books, I came across an author: Lisa Kleypas, who was highly regarded in this certain genre. So I looked through her books on Goodreads and I read the blurb of the first book of hers I came across: Mine Till Midnight. At first, I wasn’t too keen on it, as the blurb didn’t draw me in as much as I would’ve liked; however, I am so very glad that I decided to read the book. I enjoyed it so much that I read it in one sitting and stayed up until about one-thirty in the morning to finish it. I read it so fast that I basically ate it, and I’m probably going to have to read it again to wrap my head around it, haha.


The world within this novel is Victorian England (obvi). I can’t help compare this book to a couple of Judith McNaught’s – such as Once and Always, and Something Wonderful. In McNaught’s novels, you have a very rich and powerful, and arrogant asshole as the male protagonist. There is also a female protagonist who is somehow dependent on this asshole, and despite this hate between them and such, they fall in love etc. However, in Mine Till Midnight, there is a very rich man, but he is most definitely not an asshole. Cam Rohan is handsome, and a little bit of an outcast because of his half Gypsy heritage. Kleypas creates a male protagonist who actually cares for others around him and is different from others. I loved the fact that he dressed a little differently to the other males around him and I pretty much fell in love with him.


Amelia Hathaway is the female protagonist in this novel. She is headstrong and cares deeply for her family and makes it duty to see them happy. She hates to involve anyone in her family business and doesn’t depend on anyone but herself.


Storyline wise, I loved it. I love how Kleypas didn’t waste time on fluffing about with the relationship between Cam and Amelia. I also love how a ‘proper’ or ‘official’ relationship wasn’t needed for both of them and they just go on with the lovemaking. Also, the amount of this certain act in which both committed present in the novel was fabulous, and nicely detailed. I’m not sure how exactly to describe my love of this particular relationship, but I just love it so much. Although it developed kind of fast? Honestly, I don’t even know, I just feel as if it was very real? You feel me? I also loved learning a little (if at all) about Cam’s Gypsy heritage and what came with that – the language, culture, etc. I found it very interesting.


I was so happy when I found out that it was a series of five. However, I was then disappointed that it focused on the other members of the family, and wasn’t a continuation of Cam and Amelia. Kind of like another of my favourite books; Bound by Honor by Cora Reilly. I just hope that sometime in the future that I get to read more of these two. I’m not yet sure if I’ll read more of the series, if I get to see more of Cam and Amelia, then I might, but so far, it’s a no.


So probably one of the only things that irked me about this novel, was the character’s names. Hathaway and Rohan are very cool last names, and I don’t really like the names Cam and Amelia. What a trivial things to be irked by right? Yeah, but still. I reckon that Rohan could’ve had a much hotter first name, and Amelia could’ve had a more elegant first name too. And Ramsay. Lord Ramsay doesn’t sound fabulous or alluring in my opinion, he could’ve had a name like Wakefield, or Hawthorne (present in McNaught’s novels). Also, Merripen is a pretty cool name, and I thought it was ruined when I found out that his first name is Kev. Like, are you for real? Kev? Far out.



Anyways, I’d recommend this book to lovers of the Historical Fiction/Romance genre and those who enjoy the relationship between these two (I’m sorry I can’t describe it better, I’m just at a loss for words). Anyways, I give it a:


Featured Review
bottom of page