top of page

Review: Devil In Spring


Yay I’ve kinda been in a little reading slump as of late because I haven’t been able to find anything new to read so I’ve kind of just been re-reading books. However, yesterday was the day that Devil in Spring by Lisa Kleypas came out! And me, being the historical nerd/Kleypas fan that I am, couldn’t resist and began to read it (even though I was halfway through another book).


Anyways, I’ve previously reviewed her book Devil In Winter and this new one is set kind of within the same family, but into the future – and I love it. I love revisiting characters I’ve previously read about into the future, and I was not disappointed.


Once again, the world-building is great. I love immersing myself into Victorian Era England – it’s one of my favourite time periods and I honestly wish I could live as an aristocrat within those times. Kleypas makes the world (and the story) so believable that I actually sometimes imagine myself as being the protagonist.


The story revolves around Gabriel St. Vincent, son of Sebastian St. Vincent, who is pretty much a rake just like his father, haha. I absolutely loved his character, I loved the wit, and the charm, and just him overall. I reckon he was the right amount of rake, and the right amount of dignified Lord to be an interesting character.


And Pandora Ravenel. I love love the fact that she doesn’t rely on Gabriel for most things, and for someone in her time, she was an independent woman – you go girl! She made sure that she got what she wanted, and she wasn’t afraid to fight for it. She wasn’t perfect (however no one is), but she made do with what she had and she always made the best of a bad situation.


I love Kleypas’ storytelling! Of course I love the historical element, but she also incorporates enough modernism to not only make the story super interesting and not a boring historical, but she also made sure the story was indeed a historical romance and not a contemporary one.


Kleypas never fails to write a good story and I do so much look forward to her next historicals!


Featured Review
bottom of page