top of page

Review: Almost Heaven


Moving along to Almost Heaven, I enjoyed this book much more than I did Something Wonderful. I must say though, it’s a long ass book and I was reading it on my laptop and I was up to like page 1356 and I was like ‘Jesus, is this going to end anytime soon?’ Anyways, much like Something Wonderful, there were parts in the story which just made me frustrated to no end. Like that part when even after everything, Elizabeth just left Ian for her brother without even thinking it through first or even considering Ian’s feelings or her brother’s honesty. Damn, she caused a lot of unnecessary trouble. And even though Ian wanted her out of his lifer permanently, she refused to go and told him that he would come find her, etc, it was all very cute. I actually liked the fact that Alex and Jordan (Something Wonderful) appeared in this book – I loved seeing more of them despite my views on their story. I also liked the fact that there was an epilogue where we saw about ten years into the future where Elizabeth and Ian had kids and it was all vey cute – something I wish there was in Once and Always and Something Wonderful.


So Elizabeth Cameron could’ve had a better sounding last name, something more elegant or something. It could’ve been Havenhurst like her estate, I wouldn’t have minded that. I also can’t go past the fact that Elizabeth was also a naïve girl, however not to the extent of Alexandra Towsnende (nee Lawrence). I loved the fact that she was hardworking and independent and such. She was so trusting though and immediately trusted her brother and didn’t realize that her ‘friends’ (Valerie) were purposefully trying to ruin her reputation among the ton.


Ian Thornton however, had a pretty okay sounding name (he could’ve had a better first name though, but it didn’t irk me as much). I loved the fact that despite his social outcast-ness, he was a self made rich man and extremely hardworking. He didn’t really realize what he had done to Elizabeth’s reputation and it was good of him to try and fix it as much as he could. He also jumped to many wrong conclusions and he paid the price for that as well. Ian even went and reconciled with his grandfather (who he hated) in order to claim his title and marry Elizabeth.


Their story was one of passion and enjoyed it very much despite a few small discrepancies – in reality though, what novel is perfect? Overall I’d give it a:




Featured Review
bottom of page