top of page

Review: The Dead House


I just want to start off by saying that this book actually scared the crap out of me. I hate horror movies and such, but the blurb on this book sounded so interesting that I had to read it. According to the description, The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich is a psychological thriller, and I couldn’t resist indulging. I very much enjoyed the psychological part of the novel and I also enjoyed learning what I could from that part of the book.


Although I know nothing of Dissociative Identity Disorder and what comes with it, I think that the research was very well done and the world within the novel was very believable and very well written to the point where it actually scared me and I thought I was going to have nightmares of a dead girl staring at me. Also, character development was very well done throughout the story, kudos to you Kurtagich.


So storyline wise, I thought it was great. I didn’t think the story would go in the direction that it did, and it was a surprise to me. I liked the fact that the novel was set in the form of a police investigation, but while this was happening, it was also a story. Although the book was a horror one, I still couldn’t help but root for the guy and the girl to get together, and they did, but then he ended up being to bad guy and pretty much everyone died so it didn’t really matter anyway.


Usually I’d go into the traits and personalities and such of the book, however, this book is so very different from the rest and honestly, I can’t even really review it. It’s one of those books where you really need to just read it to understand it.


I feel kinda disappointed that this is only a short review compared to my other ones, but this book is different to the others and it can’t be helped. Overall, I’d recommend this book to those who enjoy horror (unlike me) and/or are interested in the psychological part of this and how the human mind works.


Featured Review
bottom of page