top of page

Review: Sweet Evil (Trilogy)

What first interested me in this series was the fact that it incorporated fallen angles and all things encompassing that – I find it all so interesting. I also wanted to say that most elements of the book interested me very much on the take the author took: the Dukes and their representation of sin, and their children and their jobs – I thought it was great. However, I thought that the other elements of the book were fairly similar to other things I’ve read. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing either. So in my opinion, The Sweet Trilogy (Sweet Evil, Sweet Peril, and Sweet Reckoning) by Wedny Higgins is pretty average.


I had no problems in terms of world-building or character-building. The only thing that kind of irked me was the fact that Anna still very much loved Kaiden after so long and after he still rejected her. I also found no problems with the writing style, I think I was too focused in the story to notice if anything was off or not. The only thing that I noticed about the storyline, was although there were some pretty cool elements (afore mentioned Dukes and such), the story was cliché in a sense and like I said before, similar to others.


So throughout all of these books, I was pretty much hooked on Kaiden Rowe. I had the biggest thing for hot bad boys and the fact that Kai was the son of a Lust demon just took the cake for me. Hot damn he was good, with the words he spoke and his actions and just, ugh, jesus christ help me.



Throughout the entire series, I thought that Anna was a naïve goody-goody and it actually annoyed me. I also know that with these things, religion is a major player, I still thought it was kind of annoying. She was constantly unaware of things around her and was so very innocent.


I think out of all of the books, I enjoyed Sweet Evil the least. I think that was because I thought it was the most cliché and boring of all of them. It was literally the good innocent girl finds out she isn’t human (all of it was just dumped on her by the way), and falls in love with the bad boy, and he breaks her heart, and she is sad about him etc etc. And the fact that her mother sent her on a five-day road trip with an older boy that she didn’t know at all? To be honest I found Patti’s actions and such pretty weird an abnormal for a mother, not just in this book, but in the entire series. I kind of cringed my way through. Don’t get me wrong, I did mostly enjoy the book.


When we got into Sweet Peril, I thought that things began to pick up (who even knows). Anna was no longer as goody-goody as she used to be. Now she’s a full blown party girl – at sixteen years old. Also, she is still missing Kai, which is only kind of understandable because he’s pretty much a dick. So this book was more of a filler for what’s to come and wasn’t as exciting as I would’ve liked it to be. There was a major focus on the relationship between Kaiden and Anna and I thought that it took over most of the book and it could’ve been dialled down at least a little. However, this book was good for the introduction to new characters and personalities as Anna travelled the world in search of her allies.


So this last book was the one where everything came together and the final battle was fought. By the way, this battle was short as hell and not as action packed as I would’ve liked. Also, I found some things unbelievable – like the fact that Marna got pregnant even though she had been sterilised? And that lusty bad-boy Kai fell in love and got married to probably the most naïve innocent girl ever? However, Kai and Anna did mature and such and they changed a little, which wasn’t so bad.


Overall, I don’t really have much to say, I guess everyone forms their own opinions, but other than the cool twist on the angel/demon thing, I thought that the series was pretty average, I wasn’t really all that excited to be honest.


Featured Review
bottom of page