top of page

Review: Forsaken


So what first drew me to the beginning of this series was seeing the lovely body of the cover model on the shelf of my local bookshop. Can we just take a moment to appreciate the sexiness of his face and body, and just him in general - ugh.



Anyways, Forsaken by Thomas E. Sniegoski is the fourth in the series. I received it as a Christmas present from my sister, so shout out to her (although I went with her and picked it out myself, haha). So going into this, I had no recollection of the previous books and I had read them most recently a year beforehand. As this book is part of a series and I don’t remember what happened beforehand, I can’t really put together an accurate description of my thoughts on character development, but I’ll try my best anyway. The character development and growth of all characters involved is pretty normal despite the circumstances – all the Nephilim have grown stronger and more ruthless as things get harder, and darker for them. Also, the world-building is pretty good too, however, you don’t see much of it as the majority of the book is focused on the Nephilim, and the monsters, and not really the world around them.


So the main protagonist in this novel (and the entire series) is a male. I didn’t find it weird, just different. In this novel, Aaron Corbert is the very determined leader of a very small, just as determined group of Nephilim who are trying their best to rid the world of evil etc. Aaron feels as if he has the weight of the world on his shoulders – which isn’t too far off. He is just as strong as he is determined. All in all, he’s a pretty badass protagonist.


I had a few little dislikes with this story, one of them being the fact that Lucifer, who is supposed to be evil as hell and led the war against God in Heaven, actually realizes the error of his ways and tries to be good. Lucifer is supposed to be the embodiment of evil. Also Verchiel has somewhat reluctantly joined the good-guys too after spending huge amounts of time trying to destroy them. I felt that this series should’ve ended ages ago, I mean, how much evil can there really be? Except that the end of this book had a small cliffhanger which makes me want to continue. I feel like it’s kind of an obligation to finish what I started, which is why I think I’ve made it this far, but there is only one more book left so why not.


Also, I was all “hell yeah” because Satan has risen to power. Except I feel that there wasn’t really any depth to his character, and he could’ve been a whole lot more evil. I felt as if he pretty much did nothing in this book except for steal Lucifer’s body and raise an island from under the ocean depths. In fact, I felt that really nothing happened in this book and I think that it’s because it’s a filler for what’s going to happen in the next book, which is the end to the series.


Overall, I didn’t mind reading this book, I wasn’t overly excited about reading it in the first place and I wasn’t as interested and invested as I would’ve liked to have been throughout my reading of the story.


Featured Review
bottom of page