top of page

Review: Ten Thousand Skies Above You


So Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray isn’t even the first book in the series; but I decided to read it anyway without reading the first one first. It wasn’t that bad, I mean okay, the first book would’ve provided some clarification and such on things and some background information, but it wasn’t too difficult to understand. However, I probably will read the first book when I get a chance, just so I can understand it.


First, the amount of world-building needed in a novel with a story such of this is astounding and honestly, Gray needs to be praised for the effort she put in to create a number of different worlds. Also the character development is very well done. There were different versions of each character and I think that Gray wrote these versions with just enough similarities and differences to make the story interesting to read. Kudos to her.


I also just want to say that the cover of this book is super pretty and it’s the reason why I picked up the book in the first place (after seeing it so many times and just looking). The blurb really drew me in and I thought that the storyline of this book is very interesting and I haven’t read anything like this before. So I jumped right in and immersed myself in this new-found idea, and I don’t regret it.


I’m still not sure what to say about it, because I haven’t read the book before, or (presumably there is one) the one after, so maybe it’s just a filler or a scene setter or whatever.


So the love interest for the main protagonist Marguerite Cain is Paul Markov, a physicist who works on the Firebird project with her parents. But there is a love triangle – yay. She loves Paul, and he loves her, but then Theo Beck also loves her. This just creates a whole lot of drama between everyone. As the story progressed, however, I wasn’t rooting for Marguerite to find all the pieces and put Paul back together, I was rooting for her to end up with Theo. I think it was when both of them went into the Warverse and were together, that I started rooting for them, and I don’t even know why, I just like them better together. I guess we’ll have to see.


I loved reading about the various dimensions and the world they contained, such as the Russiaverse, and the Warverse. It was so very interesting.


Overall, I pretty much loved the book and loved the idea and the story (mostly). Especially the world-building, I reckon Gray needs another round of applause for her work on that. Also, Paul. What kind of name is that? I’m sorry to all the Paul’s out there, but I just think it’s a really boring name. He’s Russian and his last name is Markov, he could’ve had a cooler first name. I don’t enjoy a book to the max if I don’t like a characters name – sorry Paul.


Featured Review
bottom of page