top of page

Review: The Hunter


So once again my good friend Nina recommended the The Forbidden Game series to me. We both have very similar tastes in books (as you can probably already tell), and I did very much enjoy the entire series, particularly the first one. After reading the first one, we pretty much fangirled together over Julian – because, let’s be real here, why wouldn’t you?


I pretty much fell in love with Julian as soon as I met him. L.J Smith has a way with words, and I could literally see an image of Julian in my head, and it was wonderful. He’s a villain (I have a thing for villains actually, like, I absolutely loved the character Kai Parker in season six of The Vampire Diaries, and he was a psychotic murderer), and he’s pretty much the epitome of seduction. If I was Jenny, I would’ve said goodbye to my boyfriend, and hello to sexy Julian. He wasn’t just good looking, it was his mannerisms, and the way he spoke, and the words he spoke that made him so very attractive. Although Julian was this big bad villain, he had a soft spot for Jenny who he had loved for a very long time. He told it like it was, and he could be cold, but I still felt myself inexplicably drawn to him.



I haven’t read a storyline like this yet, and I very much like the idea of it. Except, now that I’ve read it, I don’t think anyone could do better than L.J Smith’s The Hunter, and honestly, I don’t think I could read another book similar to this because quite frankly, I can’t get over Julian. All throughout the novel, I was interested in what would happen, and how it would play out, and I never got bored of reading it. It was only a very short novel, and the only thing I have against it, is the way it ended.


If I was any normal person, I’d want the heroine to complete her quest, and conquer the villain, and ultimately return to her love. Except I’m not a normal person. I just wish that the story played out so that in the end, Jenny did end up staying with Julian and they had a very hot, and passionate love affair – but I didn’t write it and therefore I don’t get what I want, haha.


I have read the rest of the series, but I do not enjoy those books as much as I enjoyed this first one, so I don’t think I’ll be reading them again anytime soon, particularly because I really really really hate how the last one ended.


Overall, the storyline was fantastic, the world building and character development was great on Smith’s part. I’d recommend this book for anyone really, maybe particularly those who enjoy suspense, and definitely those who love a good villain.


Featured Review
bottom of page