top of page

Review: Black Ice


So, I bought this book for my sister for her birthday and she told me I should read it afterwards, which I did. She was all “it’s so good, and it’s creepy because the story could happen in real life”. I didn’t really agree to what she said. I guess the book was average, it wasn’t overly exciting. I mean, if the bad guy ended up still being the bad guy, then I guess I would’ve liked it a whole lot more. I literally have a thing for bad boys, like, even if they killed their entire family I’d still be into them if they were appealing enough. This novel was highly anticipated after the Hush Hush series, but I feel that Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick did not live up to the hype that was created around it.


Also I’m kinda confused because I thought it was spring break but it’s snowing? Don’t laugh at me for that, I’m from Australia so I have no idea. Okay, so I see how the story can kind of be a reality, but even then it’s a stretch I reckon. The storyline wasn’t too bad, and the world building was pretty much just snow, and more snow, so it didn’t really need any kind of depth (except maybe research on the locations of everything in the mountain place thingy). I kind of thought the storyline was kind of bland, I reckon there needed to be a bit more action. I love a good mystery, and although the giant mystery revealed at the end was a pretty good twist, I thought that the little mysteries that led up to this one could’ve been a bit more interesting and mysterious.


I mean, I ended up reading the entire book, but I wasn’t reading as fast as I could to finish the book because it had me so rapt. Also, what kind of name is Jude? Like, are we being for real right now? He could have had the hottest name, and Fitzpatick named him Jude. That development definitely did not improve my liking to the book, in fact, I nearly threw the book across the room in defiance. Jude. Jesus Christ, why is this happening.


And this relationship development? So you’re telling me they fell in love in four days, and during those four days, they were very distrustful of each other and all they had to go on was mutual attraction. Nice. How can you fall in love with someone after four days, and then still be in love with them a year later? Is that even possible?


Character development was actually pretty good. I felt that the characters in the novel developed nicely with what was happening to them and around them.


I kinda wish that the story lived up to the blurb more than it actually did. “… falling in love could be so dangerous …” let’s be real here, if you’ve read it, you’ll know that it really wasn’t that dangerous, it’s just a whole bunch of misunderstandings.


Featured Review
bottom of page