top of page

Review: The Picture of Dorian Gray


So it took me way way longer than I would’ve liked to actually get into, and then finish this book. I swear I’ve been reading it for like two weeks, and I cringe at how long that is for just one book, no matter the size. Anyway, The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, is a classic, and after reading the book, I understand why it was seen with such negativity in the time it was published. It is written and set in my favourite historical period to read about – the Victorian Era.


As I was reading the book, I couldn’t understand some of it, because some of the language used and the structure of the sentences just didn’t make sense to me. I found myself tuning out of some parts, and re-reading others, but other than that, I thought the story was pretty good actually. Maybe when I re-read it again, I’ll understand it more.


Although I had a little trouble understanding and interpreting the story, I still felt that it was written pretty well. The world-building was great, and the character development (especially that of Dorian Gray) was fab.


The character of Dorian Gray is very complex, and I can’t really explain him without giving the events of the story away, but I did like him, even though I probably shouldn’t have.


*sigh* I know that this is a short review, and I really do wish that I could write more, but I just can’t. Maybe it’s because I’m hella tired from work, or it’s just because I don’t really know what to say.


Anyways, I reckon everyone should read this book, and my mum told me that everyone should be acquainted with the classics, so.


Featured Review
bottom of page