top of page

Review: Lord of the Fading Lands


So C.L Wilson is awarded yet another five star rating – and I don’t give those out lightly. Yet again my bestie Nins shoved me in the way of this book, sending me a screenshot of Lord of the Fading Lands, pretty much asking if I thought it was gonna be a good book. I said that I thought it would be, little did I know how much I would actually enjoy it, jesus send help.


I’m actually very impressed with Wilson after pretty much reading two of her books in succession with both being five stars. I can feel an author that I’m going to love coming on. Nins might be my bestie, but she is also my worst enemy, showing me books that are so good they stop me from doing my uni work. I pretty much devoured Lord of the Fading Lands, and I tried to download a copy of the sequel, but the server of the website I wanted to get it off isn’t responding and I just hope that it’ll work soon – otherwise I’ll die. I downloaded a sample of the book, but It’s not enough.


So, there are so many books out there written about the Fey, or Fae, or however you want to spell it; and none of them are the same, which is great. In my opinion, Wilson has done a fantastic job on her world-building, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. And the character development was quite well done too – despite the situation, there was no hint of ‘intsa-love’ which was great.


One of the reasons I love reading fantasy novels, is that the names of characters can pretty much be anything you want them to be, and although some are hard to pronounce, others are pretty, like Ellysetta Baristani. So she starts off as something like an ugly duckling, who happens to be truemates with probably the hottest guy ever created (kinda cliché). As the story continues, Ellysetta grows in character and it’s just a general development as new experiences come along, ya feel? I felt like that Ellysetta was a strong character, and I love the yet-to-be-solved mystery surrounding her heritage and such.


Alright, (I forgot his actual full name, but) Rain Tairen Soul is hot in every way – his looks, his personality, things he does, jesus I can’t handle it. I absolutely love the fact that he’s two beings in one and he’s a king, and I just love him in general, I can’t really describe it. His personality is my favourite thing ever, he’s just so arrogant, and violent, and I can’t help but just love it, I swear. Sigh, these hot fictional males will be the death of me, I’ll never find love of my own because I have too many expectations from guys like Rain.


Okay, so for the story itself, I thought it was super awesome, and very original and I just wish that I had written it myself. I absolutely loved the idea of truemates and all the stuff that came with it, and the Tairen, and the Tairen Soul, and pretty much just everything in general. I think my favourite thing though, is that fact that in Wilson’s books (the two that I’ve read so far) is the fact that there is a connection between the lovers where they can feel each other’s feelings – especially desire.


Anyways, I can’t really find a fault in this book, but maybe I’m blinded by the five star rating, oh well. I hope I can get the next one soon, but you all should read it.




Featured Review
bottom of page