top of page

Review: Lady Midnight


Okay first of all, I just wanted to talk about the fact that Cassandra Clare pretty much ruined my life. I read her Infernal Devices series and it messed me up emotionally so bad – like I have never felt this way towards a book before, no other book has affected me like this. I don’t know how she does it, but she manages to write unforgettable characters, and unforgettable stories. I’ve been ruined so much, that when I read Lady Midnight, even at the mention of a name from a character from the Infernal Devices, I had to put the book down for five minutes each time to gather myself emotionally.


Anyways. I enjoyed the story of Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. I always like reading about other people’s lives in the same universe and I actually do love it when there are crossovers between books. Also, I just wanted to mention one thing: here I was not even expecting a simple kiss until the last book, let alone them sleeping together. I was surprised to say the least, but I was also extremely happy about it.

Clare is a highly talented writer, and I love reading her stories and finding out little things in them and how everything is connected, and her story-building is just so well done. And so is her world-building, and character development – I literally cannot find anything of hers to fault when she writes, no loopholes, nothing. Everything fits and it fits so well.


So I’m all for a badass female, which is why I really enjoyed reading about Emma Carstairs. I liked her dark humour, and how she handled herself in any situation really, be it a battle or not. Aside from being a badass, Emma was a strong, and independent girl, who was also loyal as heck to her family – especially to her parabatai Juls. Although some decisions she made were pretty stupid, I understand why she did them, and in future books, I can definitely see Emma becoming a force to be reckoned with.


Emma’s parabatai Julian Blackthorn could be described as being quite the opposite of Emma, but in certain situations they are one and the same. I really enjoyed reading about him because in different situations he could be completely different people. Like, he’d be the caring brother who always looked after his family, or he could be the ruthless Shadowhunter who pretty much mowed everyone down and spoke in a threatening way which was great. I have a huge thing for villains and the occasional bad boy, and when Julian became the ruthless Shadowhunter, I was very into it.


Alright, so Clare puts her stories together so well, that I can’t predict what’s going to happen (or maybe that’s just my inability to do so), and there is always a mystery surrounding something. I’m a sucker for a good romance and I was kinda shipping Emma and Julian, but then in the end Mark came along and I was all “oh, maybe they’re better together” – but to be honest, I don’t even know. I honestly can’t really tell where this book is going, and I’m excited to find out. I’m also kind of disappointed when it was revealed why parabatai can’t fall in love or whatnot, it just wasn’t very exciting, and with all the hype around it, I was expecting something; bigger. Ya feel me?


Anyways, even if Shadowhunters isn’t your thing, I still reckon you should read any of her books because Cassandra Clare is a very good storyteller and I wish I could write half as good as she does.


Featured Review
bottom of page