top of page

Review: Me Before You


So I read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes on the recommendation of my bestest friend Tia – and I hate her for it. Well let’s be honest, I was going to watch the movie anyway, but I’m glad I’ve read the book first. It’s probably no secret of how the book ends, but I didn’t want it to end the way it did. And Sam Claflin – I can’t do it, not again.


So I hardly ever cry when I read books, and this was no exception, but that isn’t to say that other won’t cry because I was actually emotionally invested in this book and I so wanted them to get together, despite the odds. Also I actually hated The Fault in Our Stars, so you can make of that whatever you want.


Let’s be honest, I actually forgot to write this review just after I had finished the book, so my memory of it’s elements is a little bit fuzzy. From what I remember, Moyes writes pretty well, and her world-building and character development was also pretty good. I like that fact that she had done research before writing this novel, because 1. It gives accurate information to the reader, and 2. It makes the book a more enjoyable read because the information isn’t just made up.


I liked the character of Louisa Clark, even in the worst moments, she never failed to bring cheer, and I often found her hilarious, and her character brought some well-needed comedic relief to such a story. Despite the circumstances, she was always optimistic, and I love the fact that she always thought of Will before she thought of anyone else, even herself and her boyfriend Patrick.


At the beginning of the novel, Will was a downer, which isn’t a surprise considering his condition. However, throughout the novel, Will lightened up and I liked his humour and the banter that transpired between him and Lou.


I disliked the ending, and I don’t actually know if I’ll go and watch the movie, just because I don’t want to see the ending for real.


Featured Review
bottom of page