top of page

Review: Eidolon


OKAY SO I’VE WAITED FOR THIS BOOK FOR SO LONG AND IM SO HAPPY THAT IT’S FINALLY OUT AND I JUST CAN’T EXPRESS HOW EXCITED I WAS FOR THIS AND HOW MUCH NINS AND I FANGIRLED OVER RADIANCE AND HOW MUCH WE WANTED TO READ THE NEXT ONE OH MY GOD I GOT IT AS SOON AS IT APPEARED ON ITUNES BUT I HAD AN 1000 WORD ESSAY TO START, FINISH, AND SUBMIT BEFORE I READ THIS OTHERWISE THE ESSAY WOULDN’T HAVE GOTTEN DONE.



So after I managed to finish my essay and submit it, I got straight into reading Eidolon by Grace Draven, and I was not disappointed. I very much enjoyed reading more about Brishen and Ildiko, and I look forward to more. Draven said that the Wraith Kings series was going to be a six book one, except afterEidolon, Brishen and Ildiko will become secondary characters. I don’t mind, I would still read them.


Alrighty, so in my personal opinion, the first book Radiance was better, however Eidolon contained a pretty good storyline, which I did enjoy reading and exploring. I was slightly disappointed that there was less detail written about Brishen and Ildiko going to bed, I thought her descriptions of these scenes in the first book were really hot. I kind of thought that there could’ve been more action, like, there was so much hype and terror surrounding the galla, but in the end, the battle with them was only a small part of this novel, and I guess I just expected more action, and just an overall giant battle or something bigger than what we got.


I’ve already talked about Brishen and Ildiko in my review of Radiance, but I just wanted to comment on their development. Obviously, both characters have grown from what they were at the end of the last novel. They’ve both grown more comfortable in their marriage, and Ildiko is used to being the only human among the Kai, while Brishen has recovered nicely from his torture. Within this novel, I guess I could say that both characters are more mature, and able to better handle what gets thrown at them – especially the galla and having to rule a kingdom. Although there were some discrepancies (is there ever none in a marriage?), Brishen and Ildiko managed to work through it and everything worked out in the end.


I’m glad that Draven didn’t rush this book because of fans and stuff, because I really enjoyed the way she wrote and such. She has good world-building skills, and character building skills, and I really look forward to reading more of her in this series as it comes along.


Featured Review
bottom of page