top of page

Review: A Court of Mist and Fury


Holy Shit. Holy. Fucking. Shit. I can’t even deal with this right now.


I’ve just been waiting so long for A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas to come out because I absolutely loved A Court of Thorns and Roses and I needed more. Jesus, be careful what you wish for.



So first of all, I’m kind of upset at the fact that a lot of people guessed the reason why Rhysand blanched at Feyre at the end of ACOTAR, because honestly, I wasn’t too keen on following that path, but I guess it’s not my story to tell. So by the end of ACOTAR, I was a very hard Tamlin/Feyre shipper and I don’t think I’m quite ready to give that up yet despite the fact that it is most definitely over. Okay fine, so I get why Feyre ran away and I know that what Tamlin did was wrong and I understand the context of the situation, but I still kind of root for them to still be together. Like, so many things happened in ACOTAR and I guess it was a bit too far for Feyre to move on completely after everything? But I guess I’m not Feyre so I wouldn’t know for sure what’s actually going on. What about everything that happened in ACOTAR though? You can’t jut forget all of that.


I also kind of felt that some events of the book were so dramatic, and they didn’t need to be. I kind of expected more Tamlin/Feyre and then Rhys coming for her for their bargain, but it literally happened only twice and it was pretty much the introduction to the story. Like leaving Tamlin so suddenly and then going off with Rhysand and becoming hella close hella quick?


So world-building wise, I loved it. This time, we weren’t limited to the Spring Court, but we got to see the Night Court and all that encompassed, and I loved exploring more of Prythian. I also loved the introduction of the new characters, and their stories, and I also loved exploring more of the older characters.


We did get to see a lot of Rhysand this book, as opposed to the last one, and I saw a completely different side of him. Under all that darkness, he’s a soft little thing, and I’m not sure if I preferred him as a domineering sexy male or this ‘real’ him.


As for the storyline, I though it was pretty damn epic, and I guess it was just a filler of what is to come in the next book, because although there was action, it wasn’t a full scale war which I bet is what is going to be the focus of the next book. I loved exploring Feyre and her new self and her powers and I honestly just thought that she was so cool.


I can tell ya now, I’ll give the book to Nina to read and she’ll come back and be like “I knew that was going to happen.” And then I’ll just sit here like “I was too caught up in the story to try and figure out what was gong to happen later on”.


Sorry I’m just going to come back to the Tamlin/Feyre/Rhysand thing and talk about the fact that as not obvious as it is, there is definitely a sort of love triangle going on here which I wasn’t really keen on. And honestly, I shipped Tamlin/Feyre so hard you don’t understand, and now after reading ACOMAF, I have kind of changed my opinion, but I haven’t, ya feel?


Anyways, I’m just feeling way too many things right now and I can’t put it all together or deal with it. I think I just need time to process what just happened. But I’m so not ready for the year long wait to get the last book.


Featured Review
bottom of page