top of page

Review: Storm


Okay, so I finally finished uni for the semester and I’ve decided to bring myself out of my reading slump and get back into it. So my mum gave my sister these two books and was like “here are some Christmas or birthday presents that I forgot to give you.” The first book was Storm by Brigid Kemmerer, and I stole it off my sister’s shelf and decided to read it.


So after reading the blurb, I thought the plot sounded quite interesting so I gave it a go. It didn’t take me long to finish it. So the book is pretty much a typical young adult one, and I found it very similar to ones I have read before – girl meets boy, girl gets mixed up in unknown world with boy, girl finds out she is actually part of that world. See what I mean? Oh, and also there is a love triangle kinda, and (surprise) with another boy who is secretly part of that world. So although this book was pretty predictable in a way, I actually didn’t mind the plot and the supernatural world that was a part of it. I enjoyed reading about the Merrick brothers who could control the elements, however, I thought it was kinda too much for others to be able to control lesser amounts or have ‘affinities’ for elements, but I guess it kinda made for some drama.


Also, the use of the Guide is kinda contradictory. So if there is a full Elemental who is powerful and stuff and can control his element etc, why does he need to be killed? Like okay, I get it, but it’s the person who does the killing that confuses me. A Guide, who can powerfully control all five elements (including spirit) is the one who has to kill an Elemental who can powerfully control one element. It kinda makes no sense and I just don’t see the point.


Okay so, world-building wise, I guess it was fine, I didn’t notice any holes, but I guess there wasn’t really any world to build, everything just kinda fit in. And character development wasn’t too bad either I guess. I mean, it’s a young adult novel, there wasn’t going to be any in depth detail or whatever for anything. So I guess character development came with the progression of events through the story.


Becca Chandler is the one who gets sucked into this supernatural world. She’s just an average sixteen year old girl, who’s life changes when she saves the life of Chris Merrick. At first, I thought she was kind of a strong female lead, saving Chris in the first chapter and such, but as the book dragged on, she seemed to become the damsel in distress, and she became kinda annoying.


Anyways, onto Chris Merrick. Him and his brothers are Elementals, all who can control each different one. Let me just say, that him and his brothers are hella sexy, and I kinda wish that I was Becca just so I could be involved with them. Anyways, in the beginning he seems kinda weak because he’s getting the shit kicked out of him and such. However, as the story goes on, you find out about him and then you understand. There isn’t really much of a deep insight into Chris, but I guess as the books go on, more things about him will come to light.




Featured Review
bottom of page