top of page

Review: Marrying Winterborne


So lately I haven’t read anything historical and I decided that I wanted to get back into it, and what better way to do that, than to read some Lisa Kleypas – which is exactly what I did. The only books of hers that I have read are her Wallflowers series, and the Hathaways, so I decided to read some more and got myself into the Bow Street Runners series and then into the new and not-yet-complete Ravenels series. I thoroughly enjoyed both books in the Ravenels series, but I happened to enjoy Marrying Winterborne a little more than Cold-Hearted Rake, and therefore here I am telling you my feelings.


So as soon as I met Rhys Winterborne, I was immediately drawn to him. Apart from being physically attractive, I loved the fact that he had built himself and his empire up from the ground. I also loved that he was Welsh, and the little things that came with that, such as personality traits, and the use of the language (although I didn’t really understand it). I found Rhys as a character very compelling and I actually really enjoyed reading this story about him.


As for Helen Ravenel, I found her to be an interesting character. Usually, I don’t particularly enjoy reading about naïve females because honestly I just find them so frustrating. However, although Helen was a little naïve, it wasn’t to the point where I just wanted to reach into the book and shake her and be like “girl, pull yourself together it’s not so hard to figure this shit out!”


As for the storyline, I found myself reading and watching as all these secrets came out and the tension built, and I was starting to get worried because although I had guessed everything would turn out in the end, I was still wondering how it was all going to pan out. I really enjoyed all of the obstacles that arised throughout the course of the novel. I also liked how the title of the novel ‘Marrying Winterborne’ was exactly what the book was about. I kind of expected Helen to marry him near the beginning and then the book would go on after that, but I liked the journey they both took before the marriage.


Featured Review
bottom of page