top of page

Review: Angel's Blood


Just a shoutout to Sarah J. Maas and her monthly newsletters which not only provide me with exciting information, but with great book recommendations too! Described by Maas as a book containing “winged people, a fully-realized and fierce heroine, and a powerful/sexy love interest with a truly fascinating power dynamic with said heroine”, Angel’s Blood by Nalini Singh was a very interesting read for me.


Reading the blurb, I was pretty much slammed with a hell of a lot of fantasy within the first few lines. And because I’m not usually one for vampires and a hell of a lot of fantasy, I was a bit weary in reading this particular book. But because I love her ACOTAR series so much, I trusted her judgment and now here I am.


I just love stories which include angels and any variation of (fallen, arch, etc), and I love to read the many different kinds of stories that come of out this particular creature. There are so many interesting takes and variations of angel stories and Singh’s was one I had not yet encountered – and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I especially enjoyed the input of hunters and the connection between vampires and angels, it was a new concept to me and made for a pretty interesting read.


Another thing I really enjoyed about this novel was the fact that Elena (the heroine) was absolutely not a pushover or a prissy girl who accidentally got involved and cannot take care of herself. She has a very strong personality, and an equally strong mouth to match. She’s just such a badass and I love that in a heroine because it means that I’m not rolling my eyes all the damn time.


Okay, and onto Raphael, (can we just talk about the fact that ‘Raphael’ is probably the hottest name ever for this guy, it just suits his personality too) who is the Archangel in charge of New York. I love love the fact that he’s an arrogant asshole who just oozes power and sex. I just wish he still stayed his awesome badass self as the story went on instead of ‘becoming a little more human’.


And I just absolutely loved the sexual tension between Elena and Raphael.



Holy Jesus I wish I was her. I just can’t deal with it, it was so fucking hot.


Anyways, I’ve already downloaded the next book and I so much look forward to reading it and enjoying more Elena/Raphael action.


Featured Review
bottom of page