top of page

Review: The Four Legendary Kingdoms


​Okay, so after waiting years for this, the next Jack West novel is finally here. The Four Legendary Kingdoms by Matthew Reilly was everything I could have hoped for and more. The novel is shorter than the other Jack West ones, but I didn’t mind, that just meant that it only took me a couple hours to read instead of longer.


This novel is set about 10ish years after the events in the Five Greatest Warriors, and is a little different to the previous books. This book focus’ more on Jack West himself as opposed to him and his team, as he figures out the challenges ahead of him. Also I’m pretty sure this book sets up the next ones and I’m just so excited because that means more Jack West for me.


Also, I was so so so excited when I found out that this book was a crossover because nothing beats Jack West and Shane Schofield and having them together in the same book was just the best thing ever and I absolutely loved reading it and I hope that there are more crossovers to come.


Anyways, storyline wise, it wasn’t really the same kind of story as the other Jack West novels. It wasn’t really history based (not that I could tell anyway), and there wasn’t really any raw action, you know? Like no moving through trap systems and such. There were things that West had to overcome in this story and don’t get me wrong, there was some good action, but it just wasn’t the same.


It wouldn’t be a Jack West novel if there wasn’t some suspense and almost unrealistic over the top circumstances, but lucky it is right? Reilly kept me on my toes and sucked into the novel from beginning to end and I loved it.


I 100% look forward to reading the next books in the series and to see what Reilly has in store for us. Also I’m hella keen on some more Jack West/Shane Schofield action – I reckon they’d make the most badass team ever. Also reading this crossover made me wanna go and re-read all the Shane Schofield books, which I might just do actually, haha.


Featured Review
bottom of page