top of page

Review: A Shade of Vampire


So this book was advertised to me by Facebook, as the new twilight, or something better than twilight or something like that I don’t really remember. I skipped past the ad for A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest a couple of times before just at least giving the blurb a chance. I actually loved the blurb heaps and was so interested in the story that I found an illegal copy online and downloaded the thing.


Man was I sorely disappointed. The blurb was so so so much better than the book itself. I think even fucking Twilight was better. The author tried way to hard to make the writing in her book seem sophisticated and to make herself sound like she knew how to write a book when in reality, she doesn’t. The words didn’t flow and it made for a hard read.


And this book contained the most cringe worthy relationship ever. So Derek Novak was supposedly this all powerful vamp who was waking up from a 400 year sleep that he put himself into because he’s a scaredy cat. Anyways, he’s portrayed to be this all powerful, super hot, dark prince who is demanding and hella sexy. But this fell flat. And Sofia Claremont was supposed to be this super pretty, infatuating seventeen year old, and I guess to Derek Novak she was, but to me she was nothing special. From the first moment they laid eyes on each other: fucking insta-love. I shit you not it was literally instantly. There was no chemistry between the two and I found the whole thing super dumb.


The book was short as hell and therefore so were the chapters, which kept changing point of view by the way and made it even more fucking annoying and hard to read.


I’ll give one star for the idea and the concept even though it was very shitty done. Safe to say I will not be continuing on with the series.


Featured Review
bottom of page