top of page

Review: You


One day I was in Kmart, and I found the book You, by Caroline Kepnes, and I had heard of it prior and so I thought to pick it up and see what the hype was about. I’m surprised to say that I didn’t enjoy the book as much as I thought I would, I think it was over-hyped. It took me longer than I care to admit to finish this book, and even then, I was considering not finishing it at al


This novel is written in second person, which already presents the reader with an interesting point of view and take on the events of the novel. The writing is lovely and I don’t think there were any story holes, I feel as if most of the time things were put together nicely and it all worked out and it was real and stuff.


So the story is told from the perspective of Joe Goldberg who works in a bookstore and finds himself obsessed with a girl who comes in one day. And so starts the story of his journey to be with his true love. Sounds romantic right? Wrong. More like and so starts the journey to his stalking and ultimately killing for this one girl.


This book was pitched as the next Gone Girl, and although I haven’t read it, I’ve watched the movie, and I don’t actually think they’re the same. I find Gone Girl creepier than You, but maybe that’s just because one was a movie and the other was a book.


Anyways, Joe isn’t the only fucked up character in this book. The girl he obsesses over is also fucked up in her own way too.


I’ll admit though, the way the novel ends leaves everyone like “oh fuck, not again” and I think that’s pretty great.


Featured Review
bottom of page