top of page

Review: This is Where it Ends


I’ve been wanting to read this book for so so so long, and I was finally able to get my hands on a (illegal and free) copy of This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp. And thus began my reading adventure. So after reading the blurb of this book, I was super excited to read it – I thought it would be a different kind of story and one which I would enjoy heaps. I was however, mostly disappointed.


The novel was super short, and I guess I can cut the author some slack because the timeline of the novel was 54 minutes and it was already stretched as much as it could go. So I was upset about that because I really wanted to enjoy this story for ages. Anyways, for a book which had probably the most intense blurb ever, the book was a giant letdown.


There just wasn’t any depth into any of the characters, especially the shooter himself; and insight into his mind would’ve been perfect you know, seeing what goes on inside the mind of someone who brings a gun to school. Also, the book was told from four different points of view, and I guess that just made it all a little more confusing and harder to read – at one point I couldn’t tell the difference between two characters, and I think if you’re going to do this split point of view thing, make sure the characters are not so closely linked as to provide the reader with more of an insight into the story and the different perspectives.


I guess the novel wasn’t as dark or psychological or as evil as it could’ve been and that’s what disappointed me the most. I’d love to give this book more of a good rating but I feel as if it was a bunch of wasted potential.


Featured Review
bottom of page